La Trobe joins Intersect

Becomes eleventh university to join consortium

La Trobe University has become the eleventh member of Intersect Australia.

Intersect Australia is a consortium of universities that provides eResearch resources, including access to high performance computing (HPC), software development services and data management.

“It provides robust, innovative and collaborative technology to support world­-class research,” La Trobe executive director and CIO, Peter Nikoletatos, said in a statement.

“It also offers storage and analysis platforms, software engineering, expert consultancy and training programs to thousands of researchers every year.”

The CIO said that La Trobe researchers who required supercomputer resources had begun using Intersect HPC facilities in March.

Other Intersect members include the University of Sydney, UNSW, University of Technology Sydney, University of Newcastle, Southern Cross University, University of New England, Western Sydney University, Charles Sturt University, University of Canberra, and the Australian Catholic University.

The CSIRO, the New South Wales Office of Environment and Heritage, the Sax Institute and Sirca are affiliate members.