“Rusty” nails special achievement award at annual open source awards

Professed Linux kernel tinkerer Paul “Rusty” Russell has taken out the Special Achievement Award at the second annual Australian Open Source Awards (OSA) 2003 in Sydney.

Russell is the original author of ipchains, netfilter and iptables, NAT and netfilter hacking as well as “Rusty's Unreliable Guides to kernel hacking, kernel locking, packet filtering”, He received the honour for his various contributions to the Linux kernel.

The OSA 2003 winners were announced at a ceremony held at the Duxton Hotel in Sydney on Thursday night. OSA 2003 coincided with the Australian Unix and Open Systems User Group (AUUG) annual conference, held at the same hotel between August 31 and September 5.

Samba file and print sharing protocol inventor Andrew Tridgell also featured in this year’s winner’s line-up, receiving the Application Award for his work on the rsync file transfer application. The Application Award is designed to recognise work done in solving end-user problems with applications such as e-mail clients, text processing systems or Web browsers.

The Application Award is the second OSA prize for Tridgell, who won the Special Achievement Award at last year’s inaugural Open Source Awards, in Melbourne.

Other award winners for 2003 included Kimberley Shelt, who received the Community Award for promoting the open source cause through the establishment of online Australian open source rag LinMagAu, and Technology Award winner Martin Pool, for his input on the “distcc” distributed compiler. According to its Web site, “distcc is a program to distribute builds of C, C++, Objective C or Objective C++ code across several machines on a network”.

Last year, the Community Award was awarded to Cybersource’s Con Zymaris, and the Technology Award to Eric Young for his work on a free implementation of Netscape's Secure Socket Layer SSLeay.

Winners of the Application, Community and Technology Awards were decided by the popular vote of AUUG members, while the special achievement recipient was chosen by the AUUG committee. All nominees must be Australian citizens.

All winners at this year’s ceremony received a specially designed Linux Tux penguin statue, produced and supplied by Silicon Breeze/Linux Jewellery.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

More about AUUGCybersourceOSARAG

Show Comments