President Obama honors standout computer scientists with National Medals

Computer scientists who made breakthroughs in areas such as software architectures and database management systems were among those honored

These awards, along with the National Medal of Science, are the nation's highest honors for achievement and leadership in advancing the fields of science and technology.

The new awardees will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later this year.

+ ALSO on NetworkWorld: Why there's no official Nobel Prize in Computing | Whirlwind tour of computing and telecom's top honors, awards and prizes +

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was created by statute in 1980 and is administered for the White House by the U.S. Department of Commerce's Patent and Trademark Office. The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation.

The new recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation include Mary Shaw, a Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University who helped establish software architecture as a recognized discipline used by engineers building everything from anti-lock brakes to e-commerce systems.

Here's the complete list of medal winners:

National Medal of Science

  • Bruce Alberts, University of California, San Francisco, CA
  • Robert Axelrod, University of Michigan, MI
  • May Berenbaum, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL
  • Alexandre J. Chorin, University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • Thomas Kailath, Stanford University, CA
  • Judith P. Klinman, University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • Jerrold Meinwald, Cornell University, NY
  • Burton Richter, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and Stanford University, CA
  • Sean C. Solomon, Columbia University, NY

And a posthumous Medal to:

  • David Blackwell, University of California, Berkeley, CA

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

  • Charles W. Bachman, MA
  • Edith M. Flanigen, UOP, LLC., a Honeywell Company, NY
  • Eli Harari, SanDisk Corporation, CA
  • Thomas Fogarty, Fogarty Institute for Innovation, CA
  • Arthur D. Levinson, Calico, CA
  • Cherry A. Murray, Harvard University School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, MA
  • Mary Shaw, Carnegie Mellon University, PA
  • Douglas Lowy and John Schiller, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, MD

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags governmenteducationindustry verticalswhite houseCarnegie Mellon UniversityU.S. Department of CommerceAlexaUniversity of Michigan

More about CherryDepartment of CommerceHarvard UniversityHoneywellMellonPatent and Trademark OfficeSolomonStanford UniversityTechnology

Show Comments