Can I connect to the NBN?

Computerworld Australia takes a look at the areas around Australia where residents can now connect to the NBN.

New South Wales


  • Arding
  • Armidale
  • Uralla

Armidale was part of the first NBN trial sites, with an area in west Armidale home to live trials which connected around 2900 premises. The area was also the first mainland Australian site to be connected to the NBN, with residents given a free trial of the fixed wireless network for six months in January this year.

Services for the NBN launched in May 2011, with M2 Telecommunications’ first customer on the NBN connected in Armidale via its wholly owned subsidiary, Southern Cross Telco.

The Armidale NBN footprint covers 4882 premises, including the University of New England, with 87.8 per cent of residents consenting to an NBN connection.

Hunter Valley and greater Newcastle

  • Aquilo Estate
  • Hunter Rise Estate
  • Signature Gardens Retirement Resorts
  • The Vines


  • Kiama Downs
  • Minnamurra
  • Sea Crest
  • Shell Cove

Some residents in the Kiama area switched on to the NBN in July 2011, with Kiama part of the first release sites. The Kiama Downs/Minnamurra region on the south coast of NSW covers around 2350 premises.

NBN Co recently told Computerworld Australia take-up in the area was 38 per cent, with 76.3 per cent of residents initially consenting to be connected to the network.


  • 40 Shoreline Drive, Rhodes
  • Ayre Spring Farm
  • Bella Vista Waters
  • Bonnyrigg Redevelopment
  • Botanica – Lidcombe
  • Bungarribee (Bunya)
  • Cornish
  • Divercity Waterloo
  • Georges Fair
  • Glenmore Ridge
  • Harrington Park South
  • Kalina
  • Lakewood
  • Pitt Town
  • The Ponds
  • Spring Farm
  • Talana
  • Top Ryde City Living
  • Vermont
  • Waterside
  • Waters Edge


  • Renwick


  • Tallowood Ridge

Port Macquarie

  • Sovereign Hills


  • Attunga
  • Bendemeer
  • Bithramere
  • Calala
  • Daruka
  • Dungowan
  • Duri
  • East Tamworth
  • Hallsville
  • Hillvue
  • Kingswood
  • Kootingal
  • Loomberah
  • Moore Creek
  • Nemingha
  • Nundle
  • Oxley Vale
  • Quirindi
  • Somerton
  • Taminda
  • Timbumburi
  • Tintinhull
  • Wallamore
  • Warral
  • Westdale
  • Winton
  • Woolomin

Tamworth was one of the five first release sites for the NBN.

Wagga Wagga

  • Governors Hill
  • Boorooma Estates

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Show Comments