Nominations in for InternetNZ elections

Two members of InternetNZ, which was formerly the Internet Society of New Zealand (ISOCNZ), have been put forward for the role of chair of the newly renamed organization.

In a break with tradition, InternetNZ will allow members to vote at the annual general meeting not only for council members, but also for which councillors will be elected as officers of the society - chair, treasurer and secretary.

Although that decision doesn't take effect until next year, InternetNZ will allow members to vote online for this year's nominees. The council isn't legally bound by the voting in the straw poll, but council members have committed to taking InternetNZ's views onboard.

"Nominations are closed now and the vote will be wrapped up by the first council meeting on July 6," says executive director Sue Leader.

The two nominees for chair are Keith Davidson and Richard Bourne - both long-term society members. Roger De Salis, withdrew his candidacy yesterday just before the deadline for nominations. The sole nominee for secretary is David Farrar and Steven Heath is facing off against Chris Streatfield for treasurer.

Interested readers can find candidate statements for some of the nominees on the InternetNZ website, at , under the What's Hot button.

Join the newsletter!

Error: Please check your email address.

More about ISOCNZ

Show Comments