Updated: AIIA announces its 2010/2011 Board of Directors

This year's board has doubled in female members

The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) has announced a number of new appointments to its 2010/2011 National Board of Directors, following its annual general meeting in Sydney last week.

The board comprises 11 members elected by AIIA’s membership, five of whom are appointed at the board’s discretion.

After three years as AIIA’s chair, managing director of Data#3, John Grant, has elected to step down from the role, and will be preceded by Intel general manager, Philip Cronin, as elected by the board. Grant will remain close to the board as immediate past chair.

Speaking to Computerworld Australia, Grant said after three years in the position stepping down was simply the logical move.

“I’d done a lot of work and sat on the board for a long time and I’m keen to continue that, just not in the chair position,” he said.

“The chairs usually stays for one, two or three years, depending upon the momentum that’s created and the projects that are on the go and I did three years which was a pretty long time really, which I’m delighted with, it’s just time to step down.”

The board has also elected a new deputy chair, Kee Wong from e-centric Innovations, and maintained the same treasurer, Brookstone Technologies director, John Stockbridge.

AIIA's continuing chief executive, Ian Birks, has flagged an increasing attention on bringing IT and business closer together, a priority also signalled by departing chair, John Grant at the recent World Computer Congress 2010.

The 2010/2011 AIIA National Board:

Four newly elected members:

  • Tracey Fellows, managing director - Microsoft Australia
  • Jackie Korhonen, CEO and managing director - Infosys Australia and New Zealand
  • David Webster, president and CEO - EMC Australia, New Zealand and SE Asia
  • Kee Wong, managing principal - e-Centric Innovations (Deputy Chair)

Two members appointed by the Board:

  • Nerida Caesar, group managing director, Telstra Enterprise and Government
  • Suzanne Roche, director – Smartnet

Ten continuing members:

  • Warren Anderson, group vice president - Asia Pacific, Gartner Australia
  • Glen Boreham, CEO and managing director, IBM Australia and New Zealand
  • Paul Brandling, vice-president and managing director, Hewlett-Packard South Pacific
  • Philip Cronin, general manager, Intel Australia and New Zealand (Chair)
  • John Grant, managing director, Data#3 Limited (Immediate Past Chair)
  • Bob Hayward, chief technology and innovation officer, CSC Australia & Asia
  • Alan Noble, engineering director, Google Australia
  • Tom Stianos, CEO, SMS Management and Technology Limited
  • John Stockbridge, director, Brookstone Technologies (Treasurer)
  • Rod Vawdrey, CEO, Fujitsu Australia and New Zealand

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags careers

More about Australian Information Industry AssocAustralian Information Industry AssociationBrookstoneBrookstone TechnologiesCSC AustraliaData#3EMC CorporationFujitsuFujitsuGartnerGoogleHewlett-Packard AustraliaIBM AustraliaIBM AustraliaIIAInfosysIntelIntelMicrosoftNobleRocheTelstra Corporation

Show Comments