Inaugural Australian open source awards announced

The Australian Unix and Open Systems User Group (AUUG) today announced the inaugural Australian Open Source Awards.

Chair of the nominations committee Michael Paddon said the awards will encourage and recognise excellence and dedication to Australians contributing to the open source arena.

"It is a well-kept secret that Australia plays a far larger role in the international open source community than the average observer would expect," he said.

Awards will be given in four categories: technology, application, community, and special achievement. The first three awards are decided by the popular vote of the AUUG membership, and the special achievement category is judged by committee. Membership of AUUG is open to any individual or corporation with an interest in open computing technologies.

The awards ceremony will be take place during the AUUG 2002 annual conference dinner, on September 5, 2002, in Melbourne. Both AUUG members and nonmembers can attend the conference with discounts for AUUG members, members of affiliated organisations and students. Details at

"While the winners of these awards will each receive a unique and coveted statue, the real reward will be recognition for the quietly superb job that they have been doing so well, and for so long," Paddon said. The Australian Open Source Awards are sponsored by Silicon Breeze, which designs and provides the solid gold "tux" award statues.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

More about AUUG

Show Comments