Details at last on ICT framework

The federal government today announced the appointment of a steering committee to implement the development of Australia's ICT framework.

The ICT framework initiative which was announced at the recent IT World Congress in Adelaide will identify industry drivers for the next decade, assess Australia's global positioning and make recommendations on how to improve the sector through joint strategies between business and government.

The development of the framework is to be completed by the end of 2002 and steering committe members include:

Roger Allen is a co-founder of the investment company, Allen & Buckeridge. He has 25 years experience in the IT industry. He has extensive experience in mergers, IPOs and divestments across the US, Asia and Europe.

Dr Ian Chessell, is the Chief Defence Scientist at the Defence Science and Technology Organisation. The DSTO is the second-largest government research body after CSIRO with an annual budget of $250 million, and employs over 2000 staff, predominantly scientists, engineers, IT specialists, and techniciansRic Clark is Managing Director Of Ericsson AsiaPacificLab Australia, which is Australia's largest private ICT research organisation, with 500 engineers and scientists.

Dr Geoff Garrett is the Chief Executive Officer, of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO). He was previously the President of South Africa's largest science and technology body CSIR.

John Gwyther is the Chairman of the Australian Information Industry Association, and Executive Chairman of TUSC Systems, a leading Australian software services company. He is also Chairman of LOGEC Systems Inc and a Director of the Pearcey Foundation.

Peter Kazacos is the Managing Director and founder of KAZ Computer Services Limited. Kaz Computer Services employs over 1400 staff operating throughout Australia and Asia, and has recently announced the acquisition of Aspect Computing. Mr Kazacos won the inaugural Ernst & Young 2001 ‘Technology, Communications, E-commerce and Biotechnology' Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Paul Lazarou is a Board member of the Australian Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers' Association (AEEMA). He is Executive Director of Information & Communications (I&C), Siemens' (Australia) largest division, which currently turns over some $390 million annually, involving around 560 employees.

Norman McCann is Managing Director, Hewlett-Packard Australasia. Mr McCann has extensive experience as a company director and adviser. He is also a significant contributor to the public sector, having chaired the Commonwealth Government's Building on IT Strengths Incubator Grants Selection Panel. He is currently Chair of the Centre of Excellence Advisory Panel, and is a member of the Council of the National Library of Australia.

Linda Nicholls is a company director and corporate advisor. Her current professional appointments include chairmanship of Australia Post, directorships of Perpetual Trustees, Healthscope and Sigma Pharmaceuticals and advisory roles with Goldman Sachs, IBM Australia and PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Professor John Rosenberg is Dean of the Faculty of Information Technology at Monash University, the largest and most diverse IT faculty in Australia. He was formerly Professor and Head of the Computer Science Department at Sydney University.

Brian Wilson has served in global leadership and strategy roles for Accenture in London, Hong Kong, Singapore, Chicago and Sydney - most recently as head of the Communications, High-tech and Media Operating Unit for Asia/Pacific. Accenture (formerly Andersen Consulting) is the world's largest management and technology consulting firm.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

More about Accenture AustraliaAllen and BuckeridgeAndersenAndersen ConsultingAspect ComputingAustralian Information Industry AssociationAustralia PostCommonwealth GovernmentCSIRODefence Science and Technology OrganisationErnst & YoungGoldmanHewlett-Packard AustraliaIBM AustraliaKAZ Computer ServicesLogec SystemsMonash UniversityNational Library of AustraliaNormanPricewaterhouseCoopersSiemensSigma Pharmaceuticals

Show Comments