Business invited to take part in inaugral privacy awards

Nominations close in July

Federal Privacy Commissioner Karen Curtis yesterday called on business, government agencies and community organisations to participate in the inaugral Australian Privacy Awards 2008.

The winner will be awarded the Australian Privacy Medal 2008 and sponsors include Symantec, Microsoft and Clayton Utz.

"Organisations' good privacy practices, systems and projects demonstrate that our society is one that is generally committed to protecting and respecting people's privacy," Curtis said.

"In order to recognise and reward organisations for their positive contribution to privacy, I urge businesses, community bodies and government agencies to enter the Australian Privacy Awards program."

The Australian Privacy Awards and Australian Privacy Medal were officially launched by Senator John Faulkner, Special Minister of State and Cabinet Secretary.

There are four categories for the awards including large business with over 100 employees, small business for less than 100 staff and a community award for charities and community groups.

The Symantec Government Award is for all three tiers of government - local, state and national.

A Grand Award will be presented to the most outstanding entrant.

The deadline for nominations is July 9, 2008, and winners will be announced at a gala dinner on August 27, 2008.

Further details can be found at .

- with Sandra Rossi

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

More about Clayton UtzMicrosoftSymantec

Show Comments