NBN fixed wireless locations announced for SA

NBN Co will lodge planning proposals for infrastructure in 10 council areas.

Fixed wireless locations for the National Broadband Network (NBN) have been announced for South Australia.

NBN Co will lodge planning proposals for infrastructure in 10 council areas.

NBN report: Public dissatisfaction with NBN proposals grows

NBN report:NBN Co clears hurdle in Scottsdale tower dispute

Development proposals will be lodged in:

• Coorong District Council
• District Council of Grant
• District Council of Yankalilla
• Kangaroo Island Council
• Karoonda East Murray Council
• Mid Murray Council
• Murray Bridge Council
• Naracoorte Lucindale Council
• Tatiara District Council
• Wattle Range Council
• West Wimmera Shire Council (Victoria)

Some 4 per cent of households will be connected to the NBN via the fixed wireless network, which will offer broadband speeds of up to 12Mbps.

Late last year NBN Co earmarked areas in Victoria and WA to receive fixed wireless.

The fixed wireless network in SA will be switched on from mid-2014.

Follow Stephanie McDonald on Twitter: @stephmcdonald0

Follow Computerworld Australia on Twitter: @ComputerworldAU

Join the Computerworld Australia group on Linkedin. The group is open to IT Directors, IT Managers, Infrastructure Managers, Network Managers, Security Managers, Communications Managers.

References show all
Comments are now closed.
Related Coverage
Related Whitepapers
Latest Stories
Community Comments
Tags: fixed wireless, nbn co, National Broadband Network (NBN)
All whitepapers

NBN Co seeks ‘early resolution’ of TPG fibre threat

Sign up now to get free exclusive access to reports, research and invitation only events.

Computerworld newsletter

Join the most dedicated community for IT managers, leaders and professionals in Australia