Cowra and Young councils added to NBN fixed wireless list

Over 2500 premises will be connected to the National Broadband Network via fixed wireless in the Cowra and Young council areas

Two areas in central west New South Wales will be connected to the National Broadband Network (NBN) via fixed wireless.

Around 2359 premises in Cowra shire council and 239 premises in the Young Shire Council will be switched onto the NBN in stages from mid next year.

The government has steadily announced areas in Australia which will be connected to the NBN via fixed wireless, including 14 council areas in south west Queensland and [[artnid: 428164|five council areas in far north Queensland.

Fixed wireless technology will provide wholesale internet service providers with speeds of up to 12Mbps.

About seven per cent of Australians will receive the NBN via fixed wireless or satellite networks in low population density towns where it is uneconomical or impractical to roll out fibre.

Follow Stephanie McDonald on Twitter: @stephmcdonald0

Follow Computerworld Australia on Twitter: @ComputerworldAU

Join the Computerworld Australia group on Linkedin. The group is open to IT Directors, IT Managers, Infrastructure Managers, Network Managers, Security Managers, Communications Managers.

More about: etwork
References show all
Comments are now closed.
Related Whitepapers
Latest Stories
Community Comments
All whitepapers

NBN Co hits 105Mbps in limited FTTN trial

Sign up now to get free exclusive access to reports, research and invitation only events.

Computerworld newsletter

Join the most dedicated community for IT managers, leaders and professionals in Australia